List of States in India

With an estimated population of 1.2 billion, India is the world’s second most populous country after the People’s Republic of China.

It is also the largest democracy in the world, the 7th largest Country in the world, and one of the most ancient civilizations. India occupies 2.4 percent of the world’s land surface area and is home to 17.5 percent of the world’s population. The country is also popular for having the largest number of Post Offices in the world.

India is rich in terms of history. Many popular things of today originated in the country. Algebra, Trigonometry and Calculus are studies, which initiated in India. The game of Snakes & Ladders started in the 13th century by poet saint Gyandev. Before, they call the game ‘Mokshapat’. The ladders in the game represented virtues and the snakes indicated vices. People use owrie shells and dices to play the game.

The total geographical area of India is 3,287,240 square kilometres (1,269,210 sq mi).  It is a union of 29 states and 7 union territories. Listed below is the list of the states that encompass the country.

The 29 states of India

1. Andhra Pradesh

Capital: Amaravati (proposed)

Chief Minister: Nara Chandrababu Naidu

2. Arunachal Pradesh

Capital: Itanagar

Chief Minister: Pema Khandu

3. Assam

Capital: Dispur

Chief Minister: Sarbananda Sonowal

4. Bihar

Capital: Patna

Chief Minister: Nitish Kumar

5. Chhattisgarh

Capital: Raipur

Chief Minister: Dr. Raman Singh

6. Goa

Capital: Panaji

Chief Minister: Manohar Parrikar

7. Gujarat

Capital: Gandhinagar

Chief Minister: Vijay Rupani

8. Haryana

Capital: Chandigarh

Chief Minister: Manohar Lal Khattar

9. Himachal Pradesh

Capital: Shimla

Chief Minister: Virbhadra Singh

10. Jammu and Kashmir

Capital: Srinagar

Chief Minister: Mehbooba Mufti

11. Jharkhand

Capital: Ranchi

Chief Minister: Raghubar Das

12. Karnataka

Capital: Bengaluru

Chief Minister: Siddaramaiah

13. Kerala

Capital: Thiruvananthapuram

Chief Minister: Pinarayi Vijayan

14. Madhya Pradesh

Capital: Bhopal

Chief Minister: Shivraj Singh Chouhan

15. Maharashtra

Capital: Mumbai

Chief Minister: Devendra Fadnavis

16. Manipur

Capital: Imphal

Chief Minister: N. Biren Singh

17. Meghalaya

Capital: Shillong

Chief Minister: Dr. Mukul Sangma

18. Mizoram

Capital: Aizawl

Chief Minister: Pu Lal Thanhawla

19. Nagaland

Capital: Kohima

Chief Minister: Dr. Shurhozelie Liezietsu

20. Odisha (Orissa)

Capital: Bhubaneswar

Chief Minister: Naveen Patnaik


21. Punjab

Capital: Chandigarh

Chief Minister: Amarinder Singh

22. Rajasthan

Capital: Jaipur

Chief Minister: Ms. Vasundhara Raje

23. Sikkim

Capital: Gangtok

Chief Minister: Pawan Chamling

24. Tamil Nadu

Capital: Chennai

Chief Minister: Edappadi K. Palanaswami

25. Telangana

Capital: Hyderabad

Chief Minister: K. Chandrasekhara Rao

26. Tripura

Capital: Agartala

Chief Minister: Manik Sarkar

27. Uttar Pradesh

Capital: Lucknow

Chief Minister: Yogi Adityanath

28. Uttarakhand

Capital: Dehradun

Chief Minister: Trivendra Singh Rawat

29. West Bengal

Capital: Kolkata

Chief Minister: Ms. Mamata Banerjee

The Top Ten States of India by Population

1. Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh is the top one most densely Populated state in India. There are more than 210 million people living in the state of Uttar Pradesh.

2. Maharashtra

The state has a growth rate of 9.42%, It is the second most populous state of India.

3. Bihar

Bihar with a population of more than 116 million is the third most populous state of India.

4. West Bengal

West Bengal is the fourth most populous state of India with a population of over 95 million,

5. Andhra Pradesh

In terms of population, the state of Andhra Pradesh stands at fifth position.

6. Madhya Pradesh

The state is home to more than 79 million people in India, making it the sixth most populous state.

7. Tamil Nadu

Tamil Nadu is seventh most populous state in India with a total count of 77 million people in 2016.

8. Rajasthan

Rajasthan is 8th largest state of India in terms of population.


9. Karnataka

According to Census of India, Karnataka is nine largest state of India.

10. Gujarat

Gujarat with a population of 66.3 million is the 10th most populous state of India.

Leave a Reply