List Of The Active Major Political Parties In The Philippines

The Philippines has many political parties. The parties in the Philippines mainly consist of political figures and leaders. The country has the so-called multi-party system with different political parties. From the history of the political parties in the Philippines, there is no particular party that has a chance of gaining control and power alone.

Parties should work for one another to create “coalition governments”. This is for the purpose of convenience and political expediency. There are three types of parties in the Philippines: The major parties, minor parties, and the regional or provincial parties.

The major parties denote the traditional political parties, the minor parties are the party-list organizations that win seats in Congress, and the regional/provincial parties that form region-wide organizations. In this post, let’s take a look at the major parties in the Philippines that are currently active.

In the 2016 National Election, the Commission on Elections named three types of national parties namely dominant majority party (Liberal Party), dominant minority party (United Nationalist Alliance) and other seven major parties.

List Of The Nine Major Political Parties In The Philippines

1. Aksyon Demokratiko

The current leader of the party is Grace Poe. It was established in 1997.


2. Kilusang Bagong Lipunan

Imee Marcos is the current leader of Kilusang Bagong Lipunan, which was founded in 1978.


3. Lakas CMD (Christian Muslim Democrats)

Former President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo is the leader of the party, which was established in 1991, and was re-activated in 2008.


4. Liberal Party

Vice-President Leni Robredo is the leader of the Liberal Party. This party was founded in 1946.


5. Nacionalista Party

Senator Cynthia Villar is the current leader of the Nacionalista Party that was established back in 1903.


6. Nationalist People’s Coalition

Eduardo Cojuangco, Jr. is the leader of Nationalist People’s Coalition. It was formed in 1991.


7. National Unity Party

Roberto Puno is the leader of the National Unity Party, which was founder back in 2011.


8. Partido Demokratiko Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan

President of the Republic of the Philippines Rodrigo Duterte is the leader of this political party. It was established in 1982.


9. United Nationalist Alliance

Senator Nancy Binay is the current leader of the United Nationalist Alliance. It as first formed in 2012 as a coalition, and 2015 as a party.


Leave a Reply