List Of The Most Active Volcanoes In The Philippines

The active volcanoes in the Philippines are classified and categorized by the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (PHIVOLCS). The list include the volcanoes in the country that erupted during several historical times in the last 600 years.

Presently, there are 50 volcanoes in the Philippines listed by the royal Smithsonian Institution’s Global Volcanism Program. In particular, 20 of these volcanoes are classified as “historical”. Take a look at the top 10 active volcanoes in the Philippines based on the list of PHIVOLCS

List Of The Most Active Volcanoes In The Philippines

1. Mayon (50 eruptions)

The Mayon Volcano is the mos active volcano in the entire archipelago. With already 50 eruptions under its name, the Mayon Volcano continues to be one of the most active volcanoes in the present. It can be seen in the Albay province, and it is famous for its perfect cone shape.

2. Taal (33 eruptions)

The Taal Volcano is the smallest volcano not only in the Philippines, but in the world. This volcano has erupted 33 times and can be found in Batangas. Its last active eruption was in 1977.

3. Kanlaon (26 eruptions)

Mount Kanlaon is the third most active volcano in the Philippines. It can be seen on the Negros Island, and had 26 eruptions.

4. Bulusan (17 eruptions)

Mount Bulusan is a composite volcano situated in Sorsogon. It has erupted 17 times already, making it one of the most active volcanoes in the Philippines.

5. Ragang (7 eruptions)

Found in Lanao Del Sur, Cotabato, Mount Ragang has erupted 7 times from year 1765 to 1873. It is likewise one of the tallest mountains in the Philippines.

6. Smith and Didicas (6 eruptions each)

Both the Smith and Didicas volcanies erupted for six times. Smith can be found on Babuyan Island while Didicas is found in Cagayan.

7. Hibok-Hibok (5 eruptions)

Mount Hibok-Hibok is also known as Catarman Volcano. It is found in Camiguin Island and erupted for five times.

8. Babuyan Claro and Pinatubo (3 eruptions each)

Babuyan Claro is found on Babuyan Island, while Mount Pinatubo is found near the provinces of Tarlac, Zambales and Pampanga. Mt. Pinatubo produced the second largest volcanic eruption of the 20th century.

9. Makaturing and Musuan (2 eruptions each)

Mount Makaturing is located in Butig Lanai Del Sur and Musuan can be found on Dologong, Maramag, Bukidnon. They have erupted two times.

10. Biliran, Cagua, Camiguin de Babuyanes, Parker and Iraya (1 eruption each)

Biliran is found in Biliran Province, Cagua is found in Cagayan, Camiguin de Babuyanes in Camiguin Island, Mount Parker in South Cotabato, and Mount Iraya in Batan Island. All of these volcanoes have one eruption under their names.

Leave a Reply